## 02 NCAC 48A .0250 HEALTH CERTIFICATES

The State Apiarist shall grant health certificates as follows:

- (1) For queen breeders, package bee shippers, and nuclei producers in North Carolina:
  - (a) The beekeeper shall have an inspector inspect all of the bees owned or operated by the beekeeper at least one time a year at a time the bees are actively rearing brood;
  - (b) All frames of brood shall be inspected in each hive;
  - (c) If no disease is found, the State Apiarist shall issue a North Carolina health certificate dated to expire 12 months after issuance;
  - (d) If disease is found the disease shall be suppressed by destruction of hives or eradicated by fumigation;
  - (e) The inspector must wait 30 days after the disease has been eradicated or suppressed before performing a re-inspection of remaining hives for health certification purposes; and
- (2) For certification of bees to be moved from North Carolina:
  - (a) The inspector shall inspect the bees according to the entry requirements of the destination state or country;
  - (b) A uniform health certificate shall be issued if the disease freedom requirements of the destination state are met;
  - (c) The State Apiarist may make any additional declarations for which he has supporting data when such declarations are required by the destination state; and
  - (d) The inspector may mark or stamp hives that are disease-free if such is required by the destination state.

History Note: Authority G.S. 106-638; 106-639;

Eff. January 1, 2011:

Pursuant to G.S. 150B-21.3A, rule is necessary without substantive public interest Eff. March 24, 2019.