02 NCAC 48A .1703 REGULATED AREAS

- (a) Except as permitted in 02 NCAC 48A .1705 and .1706, the following is prohibited:
 - (1) The movement of Beach Vitex (Vitex rotundifolia L.F.) or any regulated article infested with Beach Vitex from the following counties: Brunswick, Carteret, Currituck, Dare, Hyde, New Hanover, Onslow, Pender;
 - (2) The movement of Bushkiller (Cayratia japonica Thunb.) or any regulated article infested with Bushkiller from the following counties: Davidson, Forsyth, Mecklenburg;
 - (3) The movement of Canada Thistle [Cirsium arvense (L.) Scop.] or any regulated article infested with Canada Thistle from the following counties: Ashe, Avery, Haywood, Mitchell, Northampton, Yancev:
 - (4) The movement of Class A, B, or C noxious weeds or any regulated article infested with Class A, B, or C noxious weeds into North Carolina;
 - (5) The movement of a Class A noxious weed or any regulated article infested with any Class A noxious weed is prohibited within the state;
 - (6) The movement of Eurasian Watermilfoil (Myriophyllum spicatum L.) or any regulated article infested with Eurasian Watermilfoil from the following counties: Halifax, Northampton, Perquimans, Tyrrell, Warren;
 - (7) The movement of Mile-a-Minute (Persicaria perfoliata (L.) H. Gross) or any regulated article infested with Mile-a-Minute from that portion of Alleghany County East of Highway 113 beginning at the Virginia border to the junction with Highway 18 and Northwest of Highway 18 beginning at the junction with Highway 113 all the way to the junction with U.S. Highway 21 in Sparta and West of Highway 21 to the North Carolina border with Virginia;
 - (8) The movement of Musk Thistle (Carduus nutans L.) or any regulated article infested with Musk Thistle from the following counties: Buncombe, Cleveland, Chatham, Gaston, Henderson, Lincoln, Madison, Randolph, Rowan, Rutherford;
 - (9) The movement of Plumeless Thistle (Carduus acanthoides L.) or any regulated article infested with Plumeless Thistle from the following counties: Haywood, Jackson, Madison, Watauga;
 - (10) The movement of Puncturevine (Tribulus terrestris L.) or any regulated article infested with Puncturevine from the following county: New Hanover;
 - (11) The movement of any Lythrum species not native to North Carolina or any regulated article infested with any nonnative Lythrum species from the following counties: Forsyth, Watauga;
 - (12) The movement of Uruguay Waterprimrose [Ludwigia hexapetala (Hook & Arn.) Zardini, Gu & Raven] or any regulated article infested with Uruguay Waterprimrose from the following counties: Bladen, Brunswick, Columbus, Durham, Granville, Hyde, New Hanover, Orange, Rowan, Wake, Warren;
 - (13) The movement of Yellow Fieldcress [Rorippa sylvestris (L.) Bess.] or any regulated article infested with Yellow Fieldcress from the following county: Orange;
 - (14) The movement of Oriental Bittersweet (Celastrus orbiculatus Thunb.) or any regulated article infested with Oriental Bittersweet from the following counties: Alleghany, Ashe, Avery, Buncombe, Cherokee, Clay, Graham, Haywood, Henderson, Jackson, Macon, Madison, Mitchell, Swain, Transylvania, Watauga, Wilkes, Yancey;
 - (15) The sale or distribution of any Class A or B noxious weed; and
 - (16) The sale or distribution of any Class C noxious weed outside a regulated area.
- (b) Other regulated areas. The Commissioner shall designate as a regulated area any state or portion of a state in which there is reasonable cause to believe that a noxious weed exists, and there is a need to prevent its introduction, spread or dissemination in North Carolina.

History Note: Authority G.S. 106-420; 106-421; Eff. December 1, 1991; Amended Eff. October 1, 2011; February 1, 2009; January 1, 2005; April 1, 2003; June 1, 1994; Pursuant to G.S. 150B-21.3A, rule is necessary without substantive public interest Eff. March 24, 2019.