
02 NCAC 52B .0202 OFFICIAL HEALTH CERTIFICATES: PERMITS 

(a)  An official health certificate is a legible record made on an official form from the state of origin, or from the Animal 

and Plant Health Inspection Service, Veterinary Services, United States Department of Agriculture. All health certificates 

must be issued and signed by veterinarians accredited in the state of origin, veterinarians employed by the Animal and 

Plant Health Inspection Service, Veterinary Services, United States Department of Agriculture, or graduate veterinarian 

employed by the state of origin. 

(b)  The health certificate shall contain the names and addresses of the consignor and consignee, the origin of the animals, 

their final destination and an accurate description or identification of the animals (age, sex, breed and tag, tattoo or brand 

number). It shall also indicate the health status of the animals listed including dates and results of required tests and dates 

of pertinent vaccinations. Health certificates shall be void after 30 days except those for cattle and hogs entering the state 

for exhibition purposes; these shall be valid for 60 days from the date of issuance and the requirements for negative 

brucellosis or tuberculosis tests within 30 days of entry into the state shall be interpreted to mean within 60 days. 

Requests for permits to be issued in accordance with these Regulations should be directed to: 

State Veterinarian of North Carolina 

472 Agriculture Building 

Post Office Box 26026 

Raleigh, North Carolina 27611 

All animals entering the state under permit shall be consigned to a resident of the state or to a legal entity authorized by 

law to do business within the state. All permits shall expire 15 days after the date of issuance. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 106-307.5; 106-317; 106-540; 

Eff. April 1, 1984; 

Pursuant to G.S. 150B-21.3A, rule is necessary without substantive public interest Eff. March 26, 

2017. 

 


