State parks and recreation areas under the stewardship of the Department include the following and the year they were established, plus any additional units authorized by the General Assembly pursuant to G.S. 143B-135.54:

(1)           state rivers:

(a)           Linville River, Avery County 1975;

(b)           New River, Alleghany and Ashe Counties 1975;

(c)           Horsepasture River, Transylvania County 1985; and

(d)           Lumber River, Scotland, Hoke, Robeson, and Columbus Counties 1989;

(2)           state natural areas:

(a)           Mount Jefferson State Natural Area, Ashe County 1956;

(b)           Weymouth Woods Sandhills Nature Preserve, Moore County 1963;

(c)           Theodore Roosevelt State Natural Area, Carteret County 1971;

(d)           Chowan Swamp State Natural Area, Gates County 1973;

(e)           Hemlock Bluffs State Natural Area, Wake County 1976;

(f)            Masonboro Island State Natural Area, New Hanover County 1976;

(g)           Mitchell's Mill State Natural Area, Wake County 1976;

(h)           Bushy Lake State Natural Area, Cumberland County 1977;

(i)            Baldhead Island State Natural Area, Brunswick County 1979;

(j)            Run Hill State Natural Area, Dare County 1995;

(k)           Occoneechee Mountain State Natural Area, Orange County 1997;

(l)            Bullhead Mountain State Natural Area, Alleghany County 2000;

(m)          Lea Island State Natural Area, Pender County 2000;

(n)           Beech Creek Bog State Natural Area, Watauga County 2002;

(o)           Lower Haw River State Natural Area, Chatham County 2003;

(p)           Pineola Bog State Natural Area, Avery County 2006;

(q)           Sugar Mountain Bog State Natural Area, Avery County 2006;

(r)            Sandy Run Savannas State Natural Area, Pender and Onslow Counties 2006;

(s)            Bear Paw State Natural Area, Avery County 2008; and

(t)            Yellow Mountain State Natural Area, Mitchell and Avery Counties 2008;

(3)           state parks:

(a)           Mount Mitchell State Park, Yancy County 1916;

(b)           Fort Macon State Park, Carteret County 1924;

(c)           Hanging Rock State Park, Stokes County 1935;

(d)           Morrow Mountain State Park, Stanley County 1935;

(e)           Pettigrew State Park, Tyrrell and Washington Counties 1936;

(f)            Jones Lake State Park, Bladen County 1939;

(g)           Singletary Lake State Park, Bladen County 1939;

(h)           Cliffs of the Neuse State Park, Wayne County 1945;

(i)            William B. Umstead State Park, Wake County 1945;

(j)            Hammocks Beach State Park, Onslow County 1961;

(k)           Lake Norman State Park, Iredell County 1962;

(l)            Pilot Mountain State Park, Surry and Yadkin Counties 1968;

(m)          Carolina Beach State Park, New Hanover County 1969;

(n)           Stone Mountain State Park, Alleghany and Wilkes Counties 1969;

(o)           Raven Rock State Park, Harnett County 1970;

(p)           Crowders Mountain State Park, Gaston County 1973;

(q)           Eno River State Park, Durham and Orange Counties 1973;

(r)            Medoc Mountain State Park, Halifax County 1973;

(s)            Merchants Millpond State Park, Gates County 1973;

(t)            Dismal Swamp State Park, Camden County 1974;

(u)           Goose Creek State Park, Beaufort County 1974;

(v)           Jockeys Ridge State Park, Dare County 1975;

(w)          New River State Park, Alleghany and Ashe Counties 1975;

(x)           Lake Waccamaw State Park, Columbus County 1976;

(y)           South Mountain State Park, Burke County 1978;

(z)           Bay Tree Lake State Park, Bladen County 1979;

(aa)         Lake James State Park, Mc Dowell and Burke Counties 1987;

(bb)         Lumber River State Park, Scotland, Hoke, Robeson and Columbus Counties 1989;

(cc)         Gorges State Park, Transylvania County 1999;

(dd)         Elk Knob State Park, Watauga and Ashe Counties 2002;

(ee)         Haw River State Park, Rockingham and Guilford Counties 2003;

(ff)          Mayo River State Park, Rockingham County 2003;

(gg)         Carvers Creek State Park, Cumberland County 2005;

(hh)         Chimney Rock State Park, Rutherford, Polk, Buncombe and Henderson Counties 2005; and

(ii)           Grandfather Mountain State Park, Avery, Watauga and Caldwell Counties 2009;

(4)           state recreation areas:

(a)           Kerr Lake State Recreation Area, Vance and Warren Counties 1952;

(b)           Jordan Lake State Recreation Area, Chatham County 1981;

(c)           Falls Lake State Recreation Area, Wake and Durham Counties 1982; and

(d)           Fort Fisher State Recreation Area, New Hanover County 1986;

(5)           state lakes:

(a)           Bay Tree Lake, Bladen County 1929;

(b)           Jones Lake, Bladen County 1929;

(c)           Lake Phelps, Tyrrell and Washington Counties 1929;

(d)           Salters Lake, Bladen County 1929;

(e)           Singletary Lake, Bladen County 1929;

(f)            Lake Waccamaw, Columbus County 1929; and

(g)           White Lake, Bladen County 1929; and

(6)           state trails:

(a)           French Broad River State Trail 1987;

(b)           Yadkin River State Trail 1987;

(c)           Mountains-to-Sea State Trail 2000; and

(d)           Deep River State Trail 2007.


History Note:        Authority G.S. 143B-135.16;

Eff. February 1, 1976;

Amended Eff. May 1, 2010; January 1, 1983;

Pursuant to G.S. 150B-21.3A, rule is necessary without substantive public interest Eff. December 16, 2014;

Transferred from 15A NCAC 12A .0104 Eff. April 1, 2017.