
12 NCAC 09B .0203 ADMISSION OF TRAINEES 

(a)  The school shall not admit any individual as a trainee in a presentation of the Commission-accredited Basic Law 

Enforcement Training Course who is not a citizen of the United States. 

(b)  The school shall not admit any individual younger than 20 years of age as a trainee in any basic criminal justice 

training course. Individuals under 20 years of age may be granted authorization for early enrollment as trainees in a 

presentation of the Commission-accredited Basic Law Enforcement Training Course with prior written approval 

from the Director of the Standards Division. The Director shall approve early enrollment if the individual will be 20 

years of age prior to the date of the State Comprehensive Examination for the course. 

(c)  The school shall give priority admission in certified criminal justice training courses to individuals holding full-

time employment with criminal justice agencies. 

(d)  The school shall not admit any individual as a trainee in a presentation of the Commission-accredited Criminal 

Justice Instructor Training Course who does not meet the education and experience requirements for instructor 

certification under Rule .0302 of this Subchapter.  

(e)  The school shall not admit an individual, including limited enrollment trainees, pursuant to Rule .0405 of the 

Subchapter, as a trainee in a presentation of the Commission-accredited Basic Law Enforcement Training Course 

unless the individual, within one year prior to admission to the Commission-accredited Basic Law Enforcement 

Training Course, scores at or above mastery level on the NROC EdreadyTM Skills Inventory for English or places 

into course DRE 098 or above at a North Carolina Community College as a result of taking the Reading and English 

component of the North Carolina Diagnostic Assessment and Placement test as approved by the State Board of 

Community Colleges on October 17, 2014, (http://www.nccommunitycolleges.edu/state-board-community-

colleges/meetings/october-17-2014), or has taken the reading component of a nationally standardized test and has 

scored at or above the tenth grade level or the equivalent. For the purposes of this Rule: 

(1) Limited enrollment trainees do not include enrollees who hold or have held within 12 months prior 

to the date of enrollment, general certification pursuant to 12 NCAC 09C .0304. 

(2) A "nationally standardized test" means a test that: 

(A) reports scores as national percentiles, stanines, or grade equivalents; and 

(B) compares student test results to a national norm. 

(f)  The school shall not admit any individual as a trainee in a presentation of the Commission-accredited Basic Law 

Enforcement Training Course unless the individual has provided to the School Director a medical examination 

report, completed by a physician, a physician's assistant, or a nurse practitioner, who holds a current license in the 

United States to practice medicine, as issued by a state medical board, to determine the individual's fitness to 

perform the essential job functions of a criminal justice officer. The Director of the Standards Division shall grant an 

exception to this requirement for a period of time not to exceed the commencement of the physical fitness topical 

area when failure to receive the medical examination report is not due to neglect on the part of the trainee. 

(g)  The school shall not admit any individual as a trainee in a presentation of the Commission-accredited Basic Law 

Enforcement Training Course unless the individual is a high school, college, or university graduate or has received a 

high school equivalency credential recognized by the issuing state. High school diplomas earned through 

correspondence enrollment in an entity that charges a fee and requires the individual to complete little or no 

education or coursework to obtain a high diploma shall not be recognized toward the educational requirements. 

(h)  The school shall not admit any individual trainee in a presentation of the Commission-accredited Basic Law 

Enforcement Training Course unless the individual has provided the School Director one of the following types of 

record checks in the manner set forth in Paragraph (l) of this Rule: 

(1) a written notification, known as a "Criminal Record Conviction History for B.L.E.T. Enrollment," 

Form F-25, located at https://www.ncdoj.gov/About-DOJ/Law-Enforcement-Training-and-

Standards/Criminal-Justice-Education-and-Training-Standards/Forms-and-Publications.aspx, from 

a department head stating that a criminal record check for local and state records has been 

conducted and no criminal convictions as listed in Paragraph (m) of this Rule were found that 

prohibit the individual trainee's enrollment in a presentation of the Commission-accredited Basic 

Law Enforcement Training Course. The hiring agency or the individual trainee shall also provide 

certified court documentation for each criminal conviction; 

(2) a certified criminal record check for local and state records, and certified court documentation for 

each criminal conviction. For the purpose of this Rule "Certified court documentation" and 

"record check" mean a document with either a raised seal or other visible verification that the 

document is authentic as a copy of the court's official record as authorized by law; 

(3) if the individual trainee has only resided in North Carolina since obtaining the age of majority, 

provide a fingerprint-based criminal history background check known as a "Right to Review" 



performed by the North Carolina State Bureau of Investigation. For the purpose of this Rule 

"Resided in" means any place the trainee has lived, worked, attended school, or participated in an 

internship. The individual shall also provide certified court documentation for each criminal 

conviction; 

(4) a fingerprint-based criminal history background check known as a "Right to Review" performed 

by a federal agency including all locations where the trainee has lived since obtaining the age of 

majority. The individual shall also provide certified court documentation for each criminal 

conviction, including domestic and foreign locations where the individual has resided; or 

(i) Trainees who have served in the United States Armed Forces, in addition to one of the types of criminal records 

checks listed in Subparagraphs (h)(1) through (4) of this Rule shall provide a copy of their Certificate of Discharge, 

DD Form 214, that shows their "Character of Service" and "Narrative Reason for Separation." Individuals showing a 

"Character of Service" as "Bad Conduct" or "Dishonorable" shall provide certified copies of their court-martial 

proceedings to include the final disposition. Trainees shall also provide documentation to show that they have 

requested their official military personnel file, which shall be provided upon receipt. 

(j)  A trainee who has been naturalized as a United States Citizen is exempt from providing the criminal record 

checks for locations where they resided outside of the United States prior to naturalization. 

(k)  A trainee who has resided outside the United States, other than those described in Paragraph (j) of this Rule, 

who cannot obtain a criminal record check from any location outside the United States shall document the 

following, to be forwarded to the Standards Division: 

(1) the name of the agencies contacted, 

(2) the date the agencies were contacted, 

(3) the contact information for the agencies contacted, and 

(4) the reason the information cannot be provided. 

(l)  Documents obtained in accordance with Paragraph (h) of this Rule shall meet the following requirements: 

(1) any records provided shall fall within the time period beginning when the trainee obtains the age 

of majority and continuing through the date of application; 

(2) any records provided shall include all locations where the trainee has resided since obtaining the 

age of majority; and 

(3) any records provided shall include all legal names utilized by the trainee since obtaining the age of 

majority. 

(m)  The school shall not admit any individual as a trainee in a presentation of the Commission-accredited Basic 

Law Enforcement Training Course who has been convicted of the following: 

(1) a felony; 

(2) a crime for which the punishment could have been imprisonment for more than two years; 

(3) a crime or unlawful act defined as a Class B Misdemeanor within the five year period prior to the 

date of application for employment, unless the individual intends to seek certification through the 

North Carolina Sheriffs' Education and Training Standards Commission; 

(4) four or more crimes or unlawful acts defined as Class B Misdemeanors, regardless of the date of 

conviction; 

(5) four or more crimes or unlawful acts defined as Class A Misdemeanors, except the trainee is not 

barred from enrollment if the last conviction date occurred more than two years prior to the date of 

enrollment; or 

(6) a combination of four or more Class A Misdemeanors or Class B Misdemeanors regardless of the 

date of conviction, unless the individual intends to seek certification through the North Carolina 

Criminal Justice Education and Training Standards Commission. 

(n)  Individuals charged with crimes specified in Paragraph (m) of this Rule are not barred from enrollment into the 

Commission-accredited Basic Law Enforcement Training Course if such offenses were dismissed or the person was 

found not guilty, but completion of the Commission-accredited Basic Law Enforcement Training Course does not 

ensure that certification as a law enforcement officer or justice officer through the North Carolina Criminal Justice 

Education and Training Standards Commission will be issued. Every individual who is admitted as a trainee in a 

presentation of the Basic Law Enforcement Training Course shall notify the School Director of all criminal offenses 

the trainee is arrested for or charged with, pleads no contest to, pleads guilty to, or is found guilty of, and of all 

Domestic Violence Protective Orders (G.S. 50B) that are issued by a judicial official after a hearing that provides an 

opportunity for both parties to be present. This includes all criminal offenses except minor traffic offenses and 

includes any offense of Driving Under the Influence (DUI) or Driving While Impaired (DWI). A "minor traffic 

offense" is defined, for the purposes of this Paragraph, as an offense where the maximum punishment allowable by 



law is 60 days or fewer. Other offenses under G.S. 20 (Motor Vehicles) or similar laws of other jurisdictions that 

shall be reported to the School Director are G.S. 20-138.1 (driving while under the influence), G.S. 20-28 (driving 

while license permanently revoked or permanently suspended), G.S. 20-30(5)(fictitious name or address in 

application for license or learner's permit), G.S. 20-37.8 (fraudulent use of a fictitious name for a special 

identification card), G.S. 20-102.1 (false report of theft or conversion of a motor vehicle), G.S. 20-111(5)(fictitious 

name or address in application for registration), G.S. 20-130.1 (unlawful use of red or blue lights), G.S. 20-137.2 

(operation of vehicles resembling law enforcement vehicles), G.S. 20-141.3 (unlawful racing on streets and 

highways), G.S. 20-141.5 (speeding to elude arrest), and G.S. 20-166 (duty to stop in event of accident). The 

notifications required under this Paragraph shall be in writing and specify the nature of the offense, the court where 

the case was handled, the date of the arrest or criminal charge, the date of issuance of the Domestic Violence 

Protective Order (50B), and the final disposition and the date thereof. The notifications required under this 

Paragraph shall be received by the School Director within 30 days of the date the case was disposed of in court. The 

requirements of this Paragraph are applicable at all times during which the trainee is enrolled in a Basic Law 

Enforcement Training Course. The requirements of this Paragraph are in addition to the notifications required under 

12 NCAC 10B .0301 and 12 NCAC 09B .0101 (13). 

(o)  The school shall not admit any individual as a trainee in the presentation of the Commission-accredited Basic 

Law Enforcement Training Course unless the individual has provided to the School Director: 

(1) copies of all active Domestic Violence Orders of Protection and Civil Non-Contact Orders issued 

to the individual; or 

(2) a signed and dated written statement from the individual certifying that no such active Orders exist 

related to the individual. 

(p)  The school shall not admit any individual as a trainee in the presentation of the Basic Law Enforcement 

Training Course unless the individual has provided to the School Director a copy of their valid driver's license. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 17C-6; 17C-10; 93B-9; 

Eff. January 1, 1981; 

Amended Eff. January 1, 2019; April 1, 2018; January 1, 2017; February 1, 2016; November 1, 

2015; March 1, 2015; January 1, 2015; June 1 ,2012; February 1, 2011; June 1, 2010; December 

1, 2004; July 1, 2004; August 1, 2002; August 1, 2000; January 1, 1995; March 1, 1992; July 1, 

1989; January 1, 1985; 

Pursuant to G.S. 150B-21.3A, rule is necessary without substantive public interest Eff. May 25, 

2019; 

Amended Eff. January 1, 2025; July 1, 2020. 

 


