(a) The Commission shall provide a hunter education instructor-led course with a minimum of six hours of instruction or a Commission-approved self-paced, independent study option that instructs on the topics identified in Paragraph (b) of this Rule. Information on instructor-led courses and registration for the self-paced study option is at Both the instructor-led and self-paced study option shall meet the standards adopted by the International Hunter Education Association, including all subsequent amendments, found at

(b) Of the instruction required by Paragraph (a) of this Rule, 60 percent of the time shall be devoted to instruction related to the safe handling of firearms. The remaining course time shall include instruction on hunter responsibility (ethics), wildlife conservation, and wildlife management; and may include wildlife identification, game care, specialty hunting, survival and first aid, water safety, and special concerns (alcohol and drugs, turkey hunting, trapping, all terrain vehicles, and hunting dogs).

(c) The hunter education course shall be administered by an instructor certified by the Wildlife Resources Commission.

(d) The following requirements must be satisfied by the course participant in order to successfully complete a hunter education course and be entitled to the issuance of a Certificate of Competency:

(1) complete all of the instruction or all the material contained in the independent study course;

(2) score a minimum of 70 percent on the final examination; and

(3) review safe firearm handling skills, except current and former military personnel, current and former law enforcement officers, and National Rifle Association certified firearms instructors are exempt from this requirement. Exempt individuals must show current documentation of their exempt status.


History Note: Authority G.S. 113-134; 113-270.1A;

Eff. October 1, 1991;

Amended Eff. June 1, 2014, April 1, 2003; April 1, 1996.


(a) Upon the conclusion of a hunter safety course, the instructor shall complete a card for each participant who successfully completed the course in accordance with 15A NCAC 10K .0101 and forward the card to the North Carolina Wildlife Resources Commission for processing.

(b) After receiving the completed card referred to in Paragraph (a) of this Rule, the Commission shall issue a Certificate of Competency to each participant who successfully completes the course. This certificate shall include:

(1) a certification number;

(2) the participant's name, address, and date of birth;

(3) the hunter safety course instructor's name; and

(4) course completion date.

(c) The Commission shall maintain permanent files of all successful participants in hunter safety courses who were issued a certificate of competency. Duplicate certificates may be obtained from the Commission.


History Note: Authority G.S. 113‑134; 113‑270.1A;

Eff. September 1, 1991;

Amended Eff. April 1, 2003; May 1, 1995



To be eligible for Hunter Safety Instructor Certification an individual must:

(1) Be 21 years of age upon application;

(2) Be a graduate of a Basic Hunter Safety Course approved by the Wildlife Resources Commission. Approved courses must satisfy the requirements set out in 15A NCAC 10K .0101 or be certified by a state or province that meets and or exceeds the requirements set out in 15A NCAC 10K .0101;

(3) Complete the North Carolina Hunter Safety Instructors Application;

(4) Complete the 12 hour Hunter Safety Instructors Course, and score 75 percent or higher on the written examination. Teachers certified by the North Carolina Department of Public Instruction and persons who have been certified as hunter safety instructors by another state may take an abbreviated course that is less than 12-hours;

(5) Submit to a background investigation including a records check which reveals no disqualifying convictions. Disqualifying convictions are listed as follows:

(a) a felony; or

(b) a crime or unlawful act defined as a "Class 1" misdemeanor within the five year period prior to the date of application; or

(c) any conviction of the game and fish law which would require a mandatory suspension and or revocation of a license as indicated in G.S. 113‑276.3 within the three year period prior to the date of application.


History Note: Authority G.S. 113‑134; 113‑270.1A;

Eff. May 1, 1996;

Amended Eff. April 1, 2003.