15A NCAC 18d .0206 CERTIFIED OPERATOR REQUIRED
(a) All public water systems, except transient non-community systems with either or both ultraviolet light disinfection, or softening (not required by the North Carolina Department of Environmental Health - Public Water Supply Section), as the only treatment applied to water, must have a certified operator in responsible charge for each water treatment facility that alters the physical, chemical, or microbiological characteristics of the water; has approved plans for such alterations; or has equipment installed for such alterations. Upon vacancy of a position resulting in noncompliance with this requirement each facility must notify the Board Office and Division of Environmental Health Public Water Supply Section Regional Office, in writing, within 10 days.
(b) There must be an operator holding at least a Grade C-Surface certification or above assigned to be on duty on the premises when a surface water treatment facility is treating water. Implementation of this requirement is subject to the following provisions:
(1) Upon vacancy of a position resulting in noncompliance with this requirement each facility must notify the Board Office within 24 hours or at the start of the next regular business day of such vacancy;
(2) Upon such vacancy the facility must fill the position with a certified grade C-Surface operator or an operator with a temporary C-Surface within 90 days.
(c) There must be an operator in responsible charge for the distribution portion of the community and non-transient non-community public water systems. This operator must possess a valid certificate issued by the Board equivalent to or exceeding the distribution classification of the facility for which he or she is designated. A system serving 100 or fewer service connections is exempt from this requirement if it has an operator in responsible charge as required in Paragraph (a) of this Rule. A system which is classified as D-distribution only may use a state certified distribution, well or surface operator to meet the operator in responsible charge requirements of this Rule.
(d) Effective July 1, 2003 there must be an operator in responsible charge for the cross-connection-control facilities of the distribution system for all public water systems required by 15A NCAC 18C to have five or more testable backflow prevention assemblies. This operator must possess a valid Grade Cross-Connection-Control certificate issued by the Board.
(e) All operators of community and non-transient non-community public water systems must follow the standard operating procedures established by the operator in responsible charge. Any decisions about water quality or quantity that affect public health which have not been defined in the standard operating procedures must be referred to the operator in responsible charge or to the certified operator on duty.
(f) No operator in responsible charge is required for transient non-community public water systems with ultraviolet light (uv) disinfection or softening (not required by the North Carolina Department of Environmental Health - Public Water Supply Section) as the only treatment applied to water.
History Note: Authority G.S. 90A‑20; 90A‑28; 90A‑29; 90A-32;
Eff. July 1, 1991;
Amended Eff. November 1, 2006; August 1, 2004; August 1, 2002; August 1, 2000; May 1, 1994; May 3, 1993.