(a)  The Board shall certify a school in another state or jurisdiction for purposes of G.S. 88A-10 provided that:

(1)           The school applies for certification, submits the information required by G.S. 88A-19(a)(1) through (7) or 88A-19.1(a)(1) through (7), and meets the requirements of, and remains in compliance with, all other applicable provisions of this Section;

(2)           If the school is in a state or jurisdiction that approves electrolysis schools, the school is approved by the proper agency for that state or jurisdiction;

(3)           The electrology school has a curriculum of 600 hours; and

(4)           The laser hair removal school has a laser, light source, or pulsed-light curriculum of 30 hours.

(b)  The Board shall revoke the certification of a school in another state or jurisdiction upon documentation that the school in a jurisdiction that licenses electrologists has lost its approval in that state.

(c)  The school shall agree to teach North Carolina's sanitation standards to any student who states to the school an intention of taking North Carolina's licensing examination.

(d)  Applications for electrolysis and laser schools may be accessed online at www.ncbee.com.


History Note:        Authority G.S. 88A-6; 88A-19; 88A-19.1; 88A-21(b);

Eff. February 1, 1994;

Temporary Amendment Eff. September 1, 2001;

Amended Eff. September 1, 2015; December 1, 2010; December 4, 2002;

Pursuant to G.S. 150B-21.3A, rule is necessary without substantive public interest Eff. May 1, 2018;

Recodified from 21 NCAC 19 .0622 Eff. January 1, 2023.