section .1300 - general


21 NCAC 32B .1301          DEFINITIONS

The following definitions apply to Rules within this Subchapter:

(1)           ABMS - American Board of Medical Specialties;

(2)           ACGME – Accreditation Council for Graduate Medical Education;

(3)           AMA – American Medical Association;

(4)           AMA Physician's Recognition Award – American Medical Association recognition of achievement by physicians who have voluntarily completed programs of continuing medical education;

(5)           AOA – American Osteopathic Association;

(6)           AOIA – American Osteopathic Information Association;

(7)           Area(s) of Practice – the medical or surgical specialty in which a physician or physician assistant has practiced or intends to practice;

(8)           Board –The North Carolina Medical Board;

(9)           CACMS – Committee for the Accreditation of Canadian Medical Schools;

(10)         CAQ – Certificate of Added Qualification conferred by a specialty board recognized by the ABMS, the AOA, CCFP, FRCP or FRCS;

(11)         CCFP – Certificant of the College of Family Physicians;

(12)         CFPC – College of Family Physicians of Canada;

(13)         COCA – Commission on Osteopathic Colleges Accreditation;

(14)         Core Competencies – patient care; medical knowledge; communication; practice-based learning; systems-based care; and professionalism as defined by the ACGME;

(15)         CME – Continuing Medical Education;

(16)         COMLEX – Comprehensive Osteopathic Medical Licensure Examination;

(17)         COMVEX – Comprehensive Osteopathic Medical Variable-Purpose Examination;

(18)         ECFMG – Educational Commission for Foreign Medical Graduates;

(19)         FCVS – Federation Credential Verification Service;

(20)         Fifth Pathway – an avenue for licensure as defined in the AMA's Council on Medical Education Report 1-I-07;

(21)         FLEX – Federation Licensing Examination;

(22)         FRCP – Fellowship of the Royal College of Physicians of Canada;

(23)         FRCS – Fellowship of the Royal College of Surgeons of Canada;

(24)         FSMB – Federation of State Medical Boards;

(25)         GME – Graduate Medical Education;

(26)         HIPDB – Healthcare Integrity and Protection Data Bank;

(27)         IMG – International Medical Graduate – a physician who has graduated from a medical or osteopathic school not approved by the LCME, the CACMS or COCA;

(28)         Intensity of Practice – the number of hours, the number of years and the responsibilities involved in a person's medical practice;

(29)         LCME – Liaison Commission on Medical Education;

(30)         LMCC – Licentiate of the Medical Council of Canada;

(31)         MCCQE – Medical Council of Canada Qualifying Examination;

(32)         Mentoring Physician – a licensed physician with no public disciplinary record in the last 10 years, who is certified by an American Board of Medical Specialties ("ABMS"), the American Osteopathic Association ("AOA") or a board determined by the Medical Board to be equivalent to the ABMS or AOA and who practices in the same or similar area of practice into which the applicant for reentry is reentering. A mentoring physician must have had some experience as a medical educator or mentor, and shall have no conflicts of interest with the reentry applicant that would impair the mentoring physician's ability to provide an objective evaluation of the reentering licensee's competence;

(33)         NBME – National Board of Medical Examiners;

(34)         NBOME – National Board of Osteopathic Medical Examiners;

(35)         NPDB – National Practitioner Data Bank;

(36)         RCPSC – Royal College of Physicians and Surgeons of Canada;

(37)         Reentry Plan – an individualized program of assessment, education and re-assessment intended to confirm the competence to practice in an intended area of practice of an applicant for reentry;

(38)         Reentry Agreement – a public, non-disciplinary agreement which incorporates by reference the Reentry Plan;

(39)         Reentry Period – the duration of Reentry Plan;

(40)         SPEX – Special Purpose Examination; and

(41)         USMLE – United States Medical Licensing Examination.


History Note:        Authority G.S. 90-8.1; 90-14(a)(11a);

Eff. August 1, 2010;

Amended Eff. March 1, 2011;

Pursuant to G.S. 150B-21.3A rule is necessary without substantive public interest Eff. March 1, 2016.