
21 NCAC 32B .1706 PHYSICIAN PRACTICE AND LIMITED LICENSE FOR DISASTERS AND 

EMERGENCIES 

(a)  The Board shall waive requirements for licensure in the circumstances set forth in G.S. 90-12.5. 

(b)  There are two ways for physicians to practice under this Rule: 

(1) Hospital to Hospital Credentialing: A physician who holds a full, unlimited, and unrestricted 

license to practice medicine in another U.S. state, territory, or district and has unrestricted hospital 

credentials and privileges in any U.S. state, territory, or district may come to North Carolina and 

practice medicine at a hospital that is licensed by the North Carolina Department of Health and 

Human Services upon the following terms and conditions: 

(A) the licensed North Carolina hospital shall verify all physician credentials and privileges; 

(B) the licensed North Carolina hospital shall keep a list of all physicians coming to practice 

and shall provide this list to the Board within 10 days of each physician practicing at the 

licensed North Carolina hospital. The licensed North Carolina hospital shall also provide 

the Board a list of when each physician has stopped practicing medicine in North 

Carolina under this Rule within 10 days after each physician has stopped practicing 

medicine under this Rule; 

(C) all physicians practicing under this Rule shall be authorized to practice medicine in North 

Carolina and shall be deemed to be licensed to practice medicine in the State and the 

Board shall have jurisdiction over all physicians practicing under this Rule for all 

purposes set forth in or related to G.S. 90, Article 1, and such jurisdiction shall continue 

in effect even after any and all physicians have stopped practicing medicine under this 

Rule; 

(D) a physician may practice under this Rule for the shorter of : 

(i) 30 days from the date the physician has started practicing under this Rule; or 

(ii) a statement by an appropriate authority is made that the emergency or disaster 

declaration has been withdrawn or ended and, at such time, the license deemed 

to be issued shall become inactive; and 

(E) physicians practicing under this Rule shall not receive any compensation outside of their 

customary compensation for the provision of medical services during a disaster or 

emergency. 

(2) Limited Emergency License: A physician who holds a full, unlimited, and unrestricted license to 

practice medicine in another U.S. state, territory, or district may apply for a limited emergency 

license on the following conditions: 

(A) the applicant must complete a limited emergency license application; 

(B) the Board shall verify that the physician holds a full, unlimited, and unrestricted license 

to practice medicine in another U.S. state, territory, or district; 

(C) in response to a declared disaster or state of emergency and in order to best serve the 

public interest, the Board may limit the physician's scope of practice; 

(D) the Board shall have jurisdiction over all physicians practicing under this Rule for all 

purposes set forth in or related to Article 1 of Chapter 90 of the North Carolina General 

Statutes, and such jurisdiction shall continue in effect even after such physician has 

stopped practicing medicine under this Rule or the Limited Emergency License has 

expired; 

(E) this license shall be in effect for the shorter of: 

(i) 30 days from the date it is issued; or 

(ii) a statement by an appropriate authority is made that the emergency or disaster 

declaration has been withdrawn or ended and, at such time, the license issued 

shall become inactive; and 

(F) physicians holding limited emergency licenses shall not receive any compensation 

outside of their customary compensation for the provision of medical services during a 

disaster or emergency. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 90.5.1(a)(1)(3); 90-12.5; 90-14(a); 

Emergency Adoption Eff. October 2, 2018; 

Emergency Adoption Exp. Eff. December 14, 2018; 

Eff. July 1, 2019. 



 


