(a)  The Board shall waive the requirements for licensure in the circumstances set forth in G.S. 90-12.5.

(b)  The following individuals may practice under this Rule if he or she either:

(1)           holds a full, unlimited, and unrestricted license to practice perfusion in another U.S. state, territory or district; or

(2)           is a current, active certified clinical perfusionist who practices in a state where licensure is not required who practices perfusion at a North Carolina hospital that is licensed by the North Carolina Department of Health and Human Services and the hospital meets the following requirements:

(A)          verifies the perfusionist's credentials and privileges; and

(B)          maintains a list of all perfusionists coming to practice and provides this list to the Board within 10 days of each perfusionist practicing at the hospital. The hospital shall also provide the Board a list of when each perfusionist has stopped practicing perfusion in North Carolina under this Rule within 10 days after each perfusionist has stopped practicing perfusion under this Rule.

(c)  A perfusionist may practice under this Rule for the shorter of either:

(1)           thirty days from the date the perfusionist has started practicing under this Rule; or

(2)           thirty days after a statement by an appropriate authority is made that the state of emergency has been withdrawn or ended.

(d)  All perfusionists practicing under this Rule shall be authorized to practice perfusion in North Carolina and shall be deemed to be licensed in this State. The Board shall have jurisdiction over perfusionists practicing under this Rule for all purposes set forth in or related to G.S. 90, Articles 1 and 40, and such jurisdiction shall continue in effect even after the perfusionist has stopped practicing under this Rule.


History Note:        Authority G.S. 90-12.5; 90-685;

Eff. September 1, 2007;

Pursuant to G.S. 150B-21.3A rule is necessary without substantive public interest Eff. March 1, 2016;

Amended Eff. August 1, 2020.