21 NCAC 53 .0213             mental health professional

A mental health professional includes the following individuals:

(1)           Licensed Professional Counselors (LPC);

(2)           Licensed Marriage and Family Therapists (LMFT);

(3)           Licensed Clinical Social Workers (LCSW) with a master's degree in social work from a school of social work accredited by the Council of Social Work Education;

(4)           Licensed Psychologists;

(5)           Licensed Medical Doctors with a Medical Board certification in psychiatry;

(6)           Nurse Practitioners approved to practice in North Carolina and certified by the American Nurses Credentialing Center as an advanced practice nurse practitioner and certified in psychiatric nursing; and

(7)           Clinical Nurse Specialists certified by the American Nurses Credentialing Center or the American Psychiatric Nurse Association as an Advanced Practice Psychiatric Clinical Nurse Specialist (CNS).


History Note:        Authority G.S. 90-334(h); 90-334(i);

Eff. January 1, 2010.