27 NCAC 01D .1605 COMPUTATION OF CREDIT
(a) Computation Formula - CLE and professional responsibility hours shall be computed by the following formula:
Sum of the total minutes of actual instruction / 60 = Total Hours
For example, actual instruction totaling 195 minutes would equal 3.25 hours toward CLE.
(b) Actual Instruction - Only actual education shall be included in computing the total hours of actual instruction. The following shall not be included:
(1) introductory remarks;
(3) business meetings;
(4) speeches in connection with banquets or other events which are primarily social in nature;
(5) question and answer sessions at a ratio in excess of 15 minutes per CLE hour and programs less than 30 minutes in length provided, however, that the limitation on question and answer sessions shall not limit the length of time that may be devoted to participatory CLE.
(c) Teaching - As a contribution to professionalism, credit may be earned for teaching in an approved continuing legal education program or a continuing paralegal education program held in North Carolina and approved pursuant to Section .0200 of Subchapter G of these rules. Programs accompanied by thorough, high quality, readable, and carefully prepared written materials will qualify for CLE credit on the basis of three hours of credit for each thirty minutes of presentation. Repeat programs qualify for one-half of the credits available for the initial program. For example, an initial presentation of 45 minutes would qualify for 4.5 hours of credit.
(d) Teaching Law Courses
(1) Law School Courses. If a member is not a full-time teacher at a law school in North Carolina who is eligible for the exemption in Rule .1517(b) of this subchapter, the member may earn CLE credit for teaching a course or a class in a quarter or semester-long course at an ABA accredited law school. A member may also earn CLE credit by teaching a course or a class at a law school licensed by the Board of Governors of the University of North Carolina, provided the law school is actively seeking accreditation from the ABA. If ABA accreditation is not obtained by a law school so licensed within three years of the commencement of classes, CLE credit will no longer be granted for teaching courses at the school.
(2) Graduate School Courses. Effective January 1, 2012, a member may earn CLE credit by teaching a course on substantive law or a class on substantive law in a quarter or semester-long course at a graduate school of an accredited university.
(3) Courses at Paralegal Schools or Programs. Effective January 1, 2006, a member may earn CLE credit by teaching a paralegal or substantive law course or a class in a quarter or semester-long course at an ABA approved paralegal school or program.
(4) Credit Hours. Credit for teaching described in Rule .1605(d)(1) – (3) above may be earned without regard to whether the course is taught online or in a classroom. Credit will be calculated according to the following formula:
(A) Teaching a Course. 3.5 Hours of CLE credit for every quarter hour of credit assigned to the course by the educational institution, or 5.0 Hours of CLE credit for every semester hour of credit assigned to the course by the educational institution. (For example: a 3-semester hour course will qualify for 15 hours of CLE credit).
(B) Teaching a Class. 1.0 Hour of CLE credit for every 50 – 60 minutes of teaching.
(5) Other Requirements. The member shall also complete the requirements set forth in Rule .1518(b) of this subchapter.
History Note: Authority - Order of the North Carolina Supreme Court, October 7, 1987, 318 N.C. 711;
Readopted Eff. December 8, 1994;
Amendments Approved by the Supreme Court: March 3, 1999; October 1, 2003; November 16, 2006; August 23, 2012; September 25, 2019.